Facilities

Capabilities and research opportunities summarized at the NSSC kickoff Meeting, September 13, 2016.
[LLNL-PRES-667996 and LLNL-PRES-702857]

LLNL has state-of-the-art capabilities available for solving research needs in transactinium science. Key facilities and contact information are provided below.

NanoSIMS

NanoSIMS High resolution ultra-high sensitivity isotopic and chemical characterization at the nanoscale (50nm).

Contact: Peter Weber (weber21@llnl.gov)

Scanning Electron Microscope

Scanning Electron Microscope Ultra-high resolution, cold field emission (FE) SEM (JEOL 7401) achieves a 1 nm resolution.


Contact: Kim Knight (knight29@llnl.gov)

Accelerator Mass Spectrometer

Accelerator Mass Spectrometer Ion counting backgrounds of 105 atoms for Pu.



Contact: Scott Tumey (tumey2@llnl.gov)

Supercomputing

Supercomputing Advanced, atomic scale simulations computed by 81920 procssors on BlueGene/L and AMD clusters up to 13,824 processors.

Contact: Mavrik Zavarin (zavarin1@llnl.gov)

Multi-collector, Plasma-source Mass Spectrometer

Multi-collector, Plasma-source Mass Spectrometer Isotopic ratio and concentration information.

Contact: Ross Williams (williams141@llnl.gov) or Amy Gaffney (gaffney1@llnl.gov)

Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Facility

Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Facility Molecular scale information on both solutions and solids.

Contact: Harris Mason (mason42@llnl.gov)

Resonance Ionization Mass Spectrometer

Resonance Ionization Mass Spectrometer Harnessing tuned lasers to perform highly sensitive, selective elemental and isotopic analyses of complex materials.

Contact: Mike Savina (savina1@llnl.gov)

Transmission Electron Microscope

Transmission Electron Microscope Actinide microscopy at the sub-nanometer scale.


Contact: Mavrik Zavarin (zavarin1@llnl.gov)